Reading, Umbrellas and my MOM

 “Stay awake, don’t rest your head. Don’t lie down upon your bed. While the moon drifts in the skies… Stay awake, don’t close your eyes. Though the world is fast asleep, though your pillow’s soft and deep, you’re not sleepy as you seem; stay awake, don’t nod and dream… Stay awake… don’t nod… and… dream.” -Mary Poppins

Today is a dreary, green and grey kind of day. The type of day you  go outside for a moment just to use your cute umbrella.The kind of day you can smell dirt and new in the air. The kind of day that makes you feel alive, yet also tempts you to tuck away in some lovely nook and pour over your books.

I’ve been thinking a lot about my mom lately. She is such a dear lady to me. I was one of those kids that hated reading at first, it was so tiresome! Yet, she persevered and we would take turns reading to each other. Ours was the type of home that every night my siblings and I would lay on the living room floor and listen to so many adventures.. a mouse and his motorcycle, the quirks of Ramona Quimby and several more dear friends.

You may have tangible wealth untold; Caskets of jewels and coffers of gold.
Richer than I you can never be –I had a mother who read to me.
~Strickland Gillilan

 

I know I missed my chance to write a mother’s day post, but really is it ever an inappropriate day to be thankful for a Mom? I hope that I’m the same kind of mother someday… the one that reads and lets her kids play in the rain. That bends the rules on bedtime to finish that last chapter. I simply love her a lot.

And in case she’s wondering, I’m a brownie with frosting today. [Rather than the burnt, crabby variety.]

xoXO, 

Bethany

 

About Bethany

I'm a small town girl going to school in the twin cities. This little blog is mostly just a space for me to ramble and to catalogue my findings and current obsessions.
This entry was posted in {Daily Life}, {Ramblings}. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Reading, Umbrellas and my MOM

  1. Hi there, I ran into this website from stumbleupon. This isn’t not blog post I would normally read, but I loved your thoughts on it. Thank you for creating a piece worth reading!

Leave a Reply

