My God is not dead, He’s surely ALIVE

 

Coffee. How could that be my first thought this morning as I pulled myself out of bed? Today should be the biggest celebration of my year. Stumbling into the bathroom I stub my toe, curse at the door jamb. Today feels the same as any other.

 I go through my routine of getting myself ready for another sixteen hour day sitting behind a desk. Play a show on hulu to ensure that I don’t fall asleep in my first hour. Watch with envy the last couple kids going to church with family.

 Sitting here as I mope over a crappy cup of morning caffination and monitoring empty security cameras was not my ideal plan for celebrating Easter Sunday. Reluctantly, because I know I should and NOT because I’m feeling in the mood, I pull out my Bible and a couple devotionals. Hitting play on my worship playlist I dive in.

    

 For in Christ all the fulness of the Deity lives in bodily form, and you have been given fulness in Christ, who is the Head over every power and authority.

    In him you were also circumcised, in the putting off of the sinful nature, not with a circumcision done by the hands of men but with the circumcision done by Christ,

    having been buried with him in baptism and raised with him through your faith in the power of God, who raised him from the dead.

    When you were dead in your sins and in the uncircumcision of your sinful nature, God made you alive with Christ. He forgave us all our sins,

     having cancelled the written code, with its regulations, that was against us and that stood opposed to us; he took it away, nailing it to the cross.

Colossians 2:9-14

 

 Yes, my first thoughts of the morning may have been rather shallow. Yes, I cursed this morning at an inanimate object within a minute of waking. Yes, I am terribly in need of a Saviour.

About Bethany

I'm a small town girl going to school in the twin cities. This little blog is mostly just a space for me to ramble and to catalogue my findings and current obsessions.
This entry was posted in {Ramblings}, {Soul Food}. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment