Something Sentimental

Don’t these photos by William Eggelston make you wish you could step back a decade? Be best friends with your grandparents?

There is just something so lovely about other eras. I suspect it’s the peace of knowing how things turned out. Looking back on the good times all the while knowing that people survived the bad times as well.

The future seems to be constantly on the mind of everyone these days. Especially as a young college student. Everyone is always asking what your plan is, who you want to be when you grow up. 

While sometimes I wish I could live in the past, and while I do spend  much time thinking about, planning for my future, I’m terribly thankful that I get to live through today.

Trust no future, howe’er pleasant!
Let the dead past bury its dead!
Act, – act in the living Present!
Heart within and God o’erhead.
      – Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

About Bethany

I'm a small town girl going to school in the twin cities. This little blog is mostly just a space for me to ramble and to catalogue my findings and current obsessions.
This entry was posted in {Ramblings}. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

